LP BASF Systems BC 21865 / CD Disconforme Records 1936 (1999) includes two lengthy bonus tracks “Ticket to India” and “Flute, Saz and Marimba” with different order of the tracks.

After releasing two jam-loaded albums for Brain records, Embryo made a move to the major BASF and produced their masterpiece. Aided by the most professional production they got so far, the band shines in all aspect of their sound, offering short and krauty vocal songs as well as long instrumental jazz improvisations. Also the ethnic influences had never before been integrated so effectively.

The band is down to its nucleus of Burchard (drums) and Bunka (guitars), notable absentee is Hofmann (sax) who’s replaced by Charlie Mariano. Dieter Miekautsch provides the electric piano.The CD release is the one to get as it has been respectfully mastered and offers 2 extra bonus tracks clocking in at almost 25 minutes. It’s quite rare now though…

First track on the CD is “Abdul Malek” which is a heavily African inspired track with remarkably emotional vocals, or should I say random wails. It’s quite unique and weird, full of ethnic influences but still recognizably kraut-y. “Don’t Come Tomorrow” is a more laidback loungey jazz song with attractive instrumental parts led by melodic flutes, piano and vibes. The African influence returns in the into of “Ethna”, before it explodes into a sizzling psych-jazz improvisation led by soloing saxphone and guitars.

A short Eastern-tinged instrumental follows before we get the band firing on all cylinders on the sizzling “No Place To Go”. Heavy on guitars and intricate rhythms it almost reminds of the heavy kraut debut of the band. More world music on “Flute and Saz” and on the bonus track “Flute, Saz and Marimba”, both titles kind of describing what you might expect. For the fans of psych-jazz rock the CD also feature the marvelous 16 minute bonus “Ticket to India”.

“We Keep On” finds Embryo at their creative peak and creates a perfect blend of the kraut as well as the jazz-rock and world music aspects of the band. Because of its eclectic nature and mystical atmosphere this could be quite a weird and demanding title but I find it absolutely stunning. One of my top jazz-related releases.

Artist       : Embryo
Album        : we keep on
Music Genre        : Progressive Rock
Year         : 1973
Songs       : 8
Playtime     : 01:03:10
Size         : 144,60 MB
Codec        : MPEG 1 Layer III / Lame 3.98 / 320 kbps
001. Abdul Malek (03:18)
002. Don`t come tomorrow (03:51)
003. Ethna, Ethna, Abu Lele (08:46)
004. Hackbrett-Dance (03:59)
005. no place to go (12:30)
006. flute and saz (06:04)
007. ticket to india (16:00)
008. flute, saz and marimba (08:38)

– Roman Bunka / guitar, saxophone, vocals, percussion, bass (6)
– Christian Burchard / drums, vocals, percussion, marimba, vibes, hackbrett, Mellotron
– Charlie Mariano / alto & soprano saxes, flute, nagasuram, bamboo flute
– Dieter Miekautsch / acoustic & electric pianos, bass piano on the clavinet


Free download Embryo – We Keep On 1973 full album from zippyshare, Uploaded, 4Shared, mediafire, utorrent, mega, torrent, 320, where download?, mp3 320 kbps, Télécharger, Lossless, iTunes Version, FLAC, Leaked, new album, Album Download, zip download, rar download, Review, album MP3.